The 2013 Jonkershoek Mountain Challenge over 35km turned out to be the perfect event for our inaugural SA long distance championships and second ever national trail champs (after the ultra champs in February).

The who’s who of trail running arrived in perfect weather and produced some electric racing up front with winning times faster than last year’s, although the route was 5km longer! From these and recent results it is becoming more and more clear that the sport has become very competitive and that the days of “clear favorites” are over.
The early pace was set by Michael Bailey, Kane Reilly, AJ Calitz, Ben Brimble, Thabang Madiba and Ian Don-Wauchope. After water point 2 Calitz and Bailey pulled away with Reilly and Madiba following. Then came the move of the day. After Madiba, the only Gautenger in the front pack heard during the latter stages of the race that he was 3 minutes behind the leaders; he decided to use the down hills to his full advantage. He eventually caught up with Calitz and Bailey in the final kilometers and that resulted in a three-man sprint to the finish. Eventually only 4 seconds separated the top three and that after 35km running over tough terrain!
The race was hit by withdrawals of many of the top runners both before the race, such as Chantel Nienaber (work), Sue Don-Wauchope (injury) and Jaqueline Haasbroek (work), as well as during the race, Landie Greyling (illness) and Linda Doke (injury).
The easy victory by Katya Soggot was therefore no surprise but it was the performance of the runner behind her that surprised most. Robyn Kime is well-known as the winner of the Dusi Canoe Marathon but clearly has some serious running talent as well after her second place today. She said after the race that her trail running started last year as part of training for the Dusi and that she liked it so much that she just continued running. Let us watch this space!
Please find the official results on
2013 South African Champions in Trail Running
As is becoming customary in running sports, official national titles were up for grabs in all masters categories and the following SA Champions were crowned:
 OPEN  Thabang Madiba  2:59:56  Katya Soggot  3:37:17
 18-34  Thabang Madiba  2:59:56  Robyn Kime  3:46:07
 35-39  Jock Green  3:17:12  Katya Soggot  3:37:17
 40-44  Iain Don-Wauchope  3:12:55  Lizl Hobson  4:49:38
 45-49  Stephen Jeffries  4:11:14  Liesl Ravenscroft  4:52:41
 50-54  Noel Ernstzen  3:25:38  Rentia Denissen  4:34:21
 55-59  Allan Ryninks  5:06:02
Congratulations to all the new SA champions and big thank you to Owen Middleton and his Wildrunner team for a lot of hard work and staging a great national championship.
Article by Run Trail